no category or items)

The European Union(EU) PDF Print E-mail

The European Union previously known as the European Community is an institutional framework for the construction of a united Europe. It was created after World War II to unite the nations of Europe economically.


In 1951, the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was set up, with six members: BelgiumWest GermanyLuxembourg,FranceItaly and the Netherlands.


Rome, creating the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) and the European Economic Community (EEC). The member states set about removing trade barriers between them and forming a "common market".


In 1967 the institutions of the three European communities were merged. From this point on, there was a single Commission and a single Council of Ministers as well as the European Parliament.



The Treaty of Maastricht (1992) introduced new forms of co-operation between the member state governments - for example on defence, and in the area of "justice and home affairs". By adding this inter-governmental co-operation to the existing "Community" system, the Maastricht Treaty created the European Union (EU).



The EU has grown in size with successive waves of accessions.DenmarkIreland and the United Kingdom joined in 1973 followed by Greece in 1981, Spain and Portugal in 1986 andAustriaFinland and Sweden in 1995. The European Union welcomed ten new countries in 2004: Cyprus, the CzechRepublicEstoniaHungaryLatviaLithuaniaMaltaPoland,Slovakia and SloveniaBulgaria and Romania expect to follow in 2007; Croatia and Turkey are beginning membership negotiations in 2005.To ensure that the enlarged EU can continue functioning efficiently; it needs a more streamlined system for taking decisions. That is why the Treaty of Nice lays down new rules governing the size of the EU institutions and the way they work. It came into force on 1 February 2003. It will be replaced, in 2006, by the new EU Constitution.



In 1992 the EU decided to go for economic and monetary union (EMU), involving the introduction of a single European currency managed by a European Central Bank. The single currency - the euro - became a reality on 1 January 2002, when euro notes and coins replaced national currencies in twelve of the 15 countries of the European Union (BelgiumGermanyGreeceSpain, France,IrelandItalyLuxembourg, the NetherlandsAustriaPortugaland Finland).


It took some time for the Member States to remove all the barriers to trade between them and to turn their "common market" into a genuine single market in which goods, services, people and capital could move around freely. The Single Market was formally completed at the end of 1992, though there is still work to be done in some areas - for example, to create a genuinely single market in financial services.



The aim of the common agricultural policy is to provide farmers with a reasonable standard of living and consumers with quality food at fair prices. The way these aims are met has changed of the years. Food safety, preservation of the rural environment and value for money are now all key concepts



User Login
Sign in

Jordan Weather
Copyrights 2011 ©, JEPA
Created by Builders-Solutions
About Us | Our Products | Our Members | Become a Member | Business Opportunities | Agriculture in Jordan | Agricultural Calendar | Event Calendar | About Jordan | Infos? Home Page | Members Area | News Lounge | FAQ | Gallery | Useful Links | Contact Us |